Skip to main content
IBBY announces the Shortlist for the 2024 Hans Christian Andersen Award

IBBY announces the Shortlist for the 2024 Hans Christian Andersen Award

he International Board on Books for Young People is proud to announce the Shortlist for the 2024 Hans Christian Andersen Award:

Marina Colasanti from Brazil
Heinz Janisch from Austria
Lee Geum-yi from the Republic of Korea
Bart Moeyaert from Belgium
Timo Parvela from Finland
Edward van de Vendel from the Netherlands

Cai Gao from China
Iwona Chmielewska from Poland
Nelson Cruz from Brazil
Elena Odriozola from Spain
Sydney Smith from Canada
Paloma Valdivia from Chile
The ten-member 2024 Hans Christian Andersen Award Jury comprising Evelyn Arizpe (Mexico/UK), Brenda Dales (USA), Sabine Fuchs (Austria), Diana Laura Kovach (Argentina), Shereen Kreidieh (Lebanon), Bettina Kümmerling-Meibauer (Germany), Jaana Pesonen (Finland), Tan Fengxia (China), Pavle Učakar (Slovenia) and Morgane Vasta (France) was led by Jury President Liz Page. Carolina Ballester acted as Jury Secretary.

The criteria used to assess the nominations included the aesthetic and literary quality as well as the freshness and innovation of the body of work; the ability to see the child’s point of view and to stretch their curiosity. All the nominees were assessed on their lifetime achievement to date and the continuing relevance of their works to children and young people.

After the meeting Liz Page said, “It was an honour to work with such a professional and remarkable jury. Despite the challenging task of assessing such a diverse list of nominees, the meetings and discussions were harmonious and enlightening. In the strained atmosphere of today’s world, it is reassuring to know that barriers to understanding one another do not need to exist between us. With this exceptional shortlist of 12 creators of works for children and young adults, we hope that young people everywhere will learn to understand others and care for them.”

The two winners will be announced at the IBBY Press Conference on Monday, 8 April 2024 at the Bologna International Children’s Book Fair. The medals and diplomas will be presented to the winners during the 39th IBBY Congress in Trieste, Italy, 30 August to 1 September 2024.

About the Award

The IBBY Hans Christian Andersen Award, established in 1956, is the world’s most prestigious international children’s book award. The author winners include: Marie-Aude Murail (France), Cao Wenxuan (China), Astrid Lindgren (Sweden), Michio Mado (Japan), Tove Jansson (Finland), and Margaret Mahy (New Zealand). The illustrator winners include: Květa Pacovská (Czech Republic), Maurice Sendak (USA), Suzy Lee (Republic of Korea), Farshid Mesghali (Iran), Albertine (Switzerland) and Roger Mello (Brazil).

Every two years, the IBBY Executive Committee elects the international jury of experts from nominations submitted by the IBBY National Sections. The members of the Jury assess the complete body of the candidates’ work. All the candidates nominated for the Award have made outstanding contributions to children’s literature in their countries and are selected by the IBBY National Sections; a complete list of the 2024 candidates can be seen here.

The International Board on Books for Young People is comprised of 83 National Sections and works to bring children and books together. It is the oldest and most highly regarded organization in the world working globally for children and books. The Andersen Award is sponsored by Nami Island Arts & Education Inc.